How we develop standards

Printer-friendly version

The standards development process is thorough and in-depth. With oversight from standards working groups comprised of sector-specific experts, surveyors, and clients, our program development team:

  • Conducts literature reviews and environmental scans
  • Researches best practices and field-specific trends
  • Consults with subject matter experts, other allied health practitioners, client organizations, academics, and policy makers
  • Hold focus groups and national consultations
  • Pilot tests the standards in the field










The standards are divided into topics that are vital to providing good quality care, including:

  • Investing resources to provide good service
  • Creating partnerships and working with the community
  • Creating a strong team
  • Delivering safe care
  • Having good information systems
  • Monitoring quality














Required Organizational Practices

Required Organizational Practices (ROPs) are evidence-based practices that are proven to reduce risk and improve quality and safety when implemented. They are developed using a similar process to that of the standards, with widespread consultation, research, and evaluation. 

ROPs are an important part of the accreditation program. They are categorized into six safety goal areas—safety culture, medication use, communication, worklife/workforce, infection control, and risk assessment—and address vital safety issues such as care transitions, hand hygiene, and home safety risk assessments. 

To review the ROPs, read the ROP Handbook.